The Authority

The Authority is a corporate body with perpetual succession and may sue and be sued in its corporate name and do, enjoy or suffer anything that may be done, enjoyed or suffered by a body corporate.

The Authority is the governing body of the Capital City and administers Capital City on behalf of the central government subject to this Act.

Any enactment that applies to a district shall, subject to this Act and with the necessary modifications, apply to the Authority

Composition of Authority

The Authority consists of the following members:-

  1. The Lord Mayor;
  2. The Deputy Lord Mayor;
  3.  One councillor directly elected by secret ballot to represent each electoral area in the Capital City on the basis of universal adult suffrage; 
  4. Two councillors representing the youth, one of whom shall be female; 
  5. Two councillors with disability representing persons with disabilities, one of whom shall be female;  
  6. Women councillors forming one third of the Authority such that the councillors elected under paragraphs (c), (d) and  (e) Shall form two thirds of the Authority.
  7. One councillor representing each of the following professional bodies:- 
  8. A person is not qualified to be a councillor unless he or she is a citizen of Uganda. 
  1. Uganda Institution of Professional Engineers;
  2. Uganda Society of Architects;
  3. Uganda Medical Association;
  4. Uganda Law Society.

Functions of Lord Mayor

The Lord Mayor is the political head of the Capital City presides over all meetings of the Authority, performs ceremonial and civic functions, he also hosts foreign and local dignitaries, heads the Authority in developing strategies and programmes for the development of the Capital City.

Monitor the administration of the Capital City, provide guidance to the division administrations; and represent the Capital City on the Metropolitan Authority.

The Lord Mayor in the performance of his or her functions, is answerable to the Authority and the Minister.

The Deputy Lord Mayor assists the Lord Mayor in the performance of his or her functions and otherwise deputise for the Lord Mayor in his or her absence.

Administrative divisions

Kampala is divided into five 5 divisions (Central, Kawempe, Makindye, Nakawa & Rubaga), each headed by a popularly elected Mayor. Those divisions are preserved under the new KCCA Law. The table below gives the names of the relevant officials and their areas of responsibility.

Political Leadership




Cabinet Minister

Hon. Betty Amongi Ongom

Minister for Kampala Capital City and Metropolitan Affairs

State Minister Hon. Benna Namugwanya Minister for Kampala Capital Authority

Lord Mayor

Erias Lukwago

Lord Mayor of Kampala City

Deputy Lord Mayor Doreen Nyanjura Deputy Lord Mayor of Kampala City
Makindye Division


Kasirye Nganda Ali

Mayor for Makindye Division

Town Clerk John Bosco Bashinyora Town Clerk for Makindye Division
Central Division


Sserunjogi Charles Musoke

Mayor for Kampala Central Division

Town Clerk Rwakabaale Geoffrey Ag. Town Clerk for Central Division
Nakawa Division


Balimwezo Ronald Nsubuga

Mayor for Nakawa Division

Town Clerk Denis Omodi Town Clerk for Nakawa Division
Kawempe Division


Serunjogi Emmanuel

Mayor for Kawempe Division

Town Clerk
Moses Sempa
Town Clerk for Kawempe Division
Rubaga Division


OWEK. Ssebugwawo Joyce Nabosa

Mayor for Rubaga Division

Town Clerk Thomas Ssentongo Town Clerk for Rubaga Division


To be a Vibrant, Attractive and Sustainable City


To Deliver Quality Services to the City

Core Values

Excellence, Integrity, Innovativeness, Teamwork and Client Care

Development partners